Posted by: Catherine Lugg | October 21, 2010

Another young gay man dies

On October 13, 2010, 17-year-old Terrel Williams hung himself in his bedroom closet after being beaten and thrown into a brick wall by five of his classmates.

Terrel had a loving and supportive mom and a long-time boyfriend. But he was terrified of more beatings. In his note he wrote,

I’m sorry to my immediate loved ones, but I feel suicide is the only way out. I felt coming out, and being happy with Daric, was the best thing I could’ve ever done. But I didn’t think it would lead to my death at an early age. Today, was the record worst day of my life, some kids at school stole some of my stuff that I got from people I really cared about, and that really pushed me over the top, next to being shoved into a wall, and my ribs being broken.

His boyfriend Daric Rawr observes that Terrel was:

“compassionate, fun loving, outgoing person who enjoyed life to the fullest. He loved life, but felt the need to take it, because [the bullying] didn’t stop … respectful, whole hearted people like Terrel, and the growing number of others, shouldn’t have to feel suicide is the answer, because bullies won’t stop.”

Go to QUEERTY and read.

Responses

  1. […] Because the Bullies Won’t Stop I’ve been following the reportage on the queer kids who have committed suicide this fall. And unfortunately, a familiar trope is being resurrected, that of the “poor, tortured, and dysfunctional queer.” In some instances, you can almost hear the not-quite-voiced sentiment of, “but of course they committed suicide. It only makes sense.” Suicide only makes sense if you believe queers, and especially young queers, deserve to be powerless, bullied, and tortured. Yet, I fear too many Americans believe this–because the bullies aren’t stopping. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

