Posted by: Catherine Lugg | November 8, 2011

The Pathology that is The Pennsylvania State University

I’ll have a longer post in a day or two, but the news from my alma mater, Penn State (Ph.D. 1995), is as shocking as it is NOT surprising.

It is, to a large extent, an Arendtian moment. Evil isn’t a drooling monster with horns and pitchfork who shows up on your doorstep. Instead, evil is the most winning football coach in Division 1 history who looks like grandpa but, by failing to act in a meaningful way, condoned the rape of an unknown 10-year old boy by default. And we have similar acts of evil by other members of Penn State’s leadership.

This lack of moral judgement is utterly appalling. But sadly, I am NOT surprised.

More to come.

Responses

  1. Cath, I’ve being somewhere between raging and in tears since I’ve found out about this Saturday morning. I can only begin to imagine how you feel. I wish I was shocked, but given our respective experiences in academia, sadly, I’m more ready to bring in medieval forms of torture back as punishment than anything else. I can’t wait to see what else you have to say about PSU.

  2. […] quite knew when the stones were going to be hurled your way….but you knew they were coming. As I noted in my last post: It is, to a large extent, an Arendtian moment. Evil isn’t a drooling monster with horns and […]

  3. […] football. Until they are educated to understand that harsh truth, I fear very little will change. As I noted in November, It is, to a large extent, an Arendtian moment. Evil isn’t a drooling monster with horns and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

