Posted by: Catherine Lugg | December 20, 2011

Yet another “Family Values” GOP politican gets outed

Yah know, these things almost write themselves. According to the Toronto Globe and Mail, Greg Davis (R), mayor of Southaven, Mississippi, has “a wife of 19 years, Suzann, and three young daughters, who are all active members of Heartland Baptist Church…”

Mr. Davis ran into trouble when a state audit of his expenses revealed that he had spent $67 at a Toronto store, Priape, which claims to be, “Canada’s premiere gay lifestyle store and sex shop.”

Now, I have long believed in “outing” closeted pols, particularly if they embrace homophobic stances. We all have a right to a private life, but no one has a right to lie about it. Since the funding disclosure, Mr. Davis has admitted that “I think that it is important that I discuss the struggles I have had over the last few years when I came to the realization that I am gay.”

Well, Mr. Davis has a bit more trouble than being queer in Mississippi. He has 30 days to repay approximately $170,000 to the city of Southaven for inappropriate expenses….otherwise, he’s looking at a civil suit.

Stay tuned….


Leave a comment

Categories