Posted by: Catherine Lugg | October 12, 2012

An update on the Blood Libel Trifecta

My partner has done some casual checking, and the libelous priest has made the same sermon equating queers with Jeffrey Dahmer for many years. So, this nutter has been able to lie with impunity, telling lethal lies against queers, and no one of the faith has done a damn thing.

Check, please. I’m completely done. When a diocese, both the laity and the leadership, allow hatred to be spread, don’t expect me to be “down” with it.

Responses

  1. As Martin Luther King, Jr. said: “Cowardice asks the question, ‘Is it safe?’ Expediency asks the question, ‘Is it polite?’ Vanity asks the question, ‘Is it popular?’ But conscience asks the question, ‘Is it right?’ And there comes a point when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor polite, nor popular, but one must take it because one’s conscience tells him or her that it is right.”

  2. Bill, thanks for your comment, which is SPOT ON! I have had a couple of members contact me asking me to stay to ‘fight from the inside.’ But I’m not Catholic or Christian, and I refuse to do the heavy organizational lifting that the members of the faith SHOULD be doing. So, I have better things to do with my time than to contribute to my own oppression.

    Dust under my feet, and all of that jazz….

  3. Yeah, I’d excuse it if it was a ‘one-off’, deranged moment and there was some institutional hand-slapping. But this is not a regrettable mistake, it’s part of his self-marketing. Also, I very much doubt that you’re the first to raise the issue. But apparently “your kind” don’t count.
    The plea for you to stay and fight the good fight reminds me of ‘High Plains Drifter’ where a town sought an outsider to clean up their mess. Unless you possess supernatural powers, it’s not your fight.

  4. A lapsed Catholic here. Very lapsed. After being exposed to the hypocrisy, double standards, arrogance, demeaning of women, hatred and ostracizing and condemnation of various groups, etc., etc., I washed my hands of the whole thing. Not a very articulate comment (sorry, end-of-day fatigue crash!), but just wanted to say I agree with you and your decision.

  5. […] An update on the Blood Libel Trifecta (cath47.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

