Posted by: Catherine Lugg | February 11, 2013

And they will know we are Christians by our love???

Well, in Sullivan, Indiana, not so much. It appears that some local parents are fairly freaked out that queers would be allowed to go to their public school prom as couples! (the horror!). So, a few more unenlightened souls have decided to sponsor a separate prom lest their little darlings be contaminated by the mere presence of same-sex couples at the prom.

Dan Savage is all OVER this.

According to a local public school teacher, Diane Medley:

Diana Medley is a special education teacher in town. She doesn’t believe anyone is born gay.

“I believe that it was life circumstances and they chose to be that way; God created everyone equal,” said Medley.

“Homosexual students come to me with their problems, and I don’t agree with them, but I care about them. It’s the same thing with my special needs kids, I think God puts everyone in our lives for a reason,” said Madley.

“‘So the same goes for gays? Do you think they have a purpose in life?’ No I honestly don’t. Sorry, but I don’t. I don’t understand it. A gay person isn’t going to come up and make some change unless it’s to realize that it was a choice and they’re choosing God,” said Medley.

This public school educator doesn’t believe “gays” have a purpose in life.” Yup, that’s some Christian love she’s got going on there. Would she have the same feelings about students with special needs? Jewish students? African American students?

There is some very good news in the midst of this homophobic mess: The public school, if not this specific public school teacher, is supporting the queer kids. It’s a few freaked out parents who are pushing for a separate and PRIVATE prom. A mere 5 years ago, and this story would be about public school leaders banning queer couples from the prom. It *IS* progress.

UPDATE:

The following is just fabulous.

HT: Jess Clawson

Responses

  1. As an educator, I was horrified when I read of the public declarations of this teacher…. My heart goes out to the students who are still struggling to accept themselves, as people like her must add to their torment.

    I agree, progress is definitely being made….. I just wish it was happening a little faster.


Leave a Reply

Categories

