Posted by: Catherine Lugg | November 15, 2011

Sandusky’s Lawyer is kinda creepy

Now, I’m not a lawyer, I’m a policy geek. But the last thing you want a client to do, particularly if they’ve been charged with raping children, is to talk to the press—period. Because ANYTHING one says will be used in court, as well as the court of public opinion. So, this statement by Sandusky to Bob Costas is really problematic:

“I could say I have done some of those things,” he said. “I have horsed around with kids I have showered (with) after workouts. I have hugged them, and I have touched their legs without intent of sexual contact.”

The prosecutor is going to have a field day with that one. So, why hasn’t Sandusky’s lawyer told him to “shut up?”

Well, it seems Joe Amendola may have his own blind spots. From a local TV station:

CBS 21 News just learned that lawyer, Joe Amendola, reportedly impregnated a teenage girl, that’s according to Centre County Court documents. The two later married in 2003 and then separated.

This story is going to get muuuuch worse. Clearly, Sandusky has long been and remains surrounded by enablers and creeps.


Responses

  1. I took a few law enforcement classes once, and met a few retired and current police officers. And they all agreed that most effective tactic for staying out of jail is to just STOP TALKING! Don’t say more than you have to!


Leave a comment

Categories